0755 265900 [email protected]

Points Test

If you apply to migrate to Australia under the Skilled–Independent category or the Skilled–Sponsored category, you will be assessed against a points test.

Applying for General Skilled Migration Visas

These General Skilled Migration Visas are widely regarded as the most appealing visas available to Australia. The Skilled Independent (Subclass 189) and Skilled State Nominated (Subclass 190) are permanent visas that allow you to remain in Australia indefinitely and have unlimited work rights. The Skilled Regional Visa (489), is a provisional visa that leads to Permanent Residency.

To be able to apply for these visas, you must first pass a skills assessment and points test. The points test measures how desirable you are to the Australian Government by measuring such things as your age, education, work experience and English.

Please note before submitting an expression of interest, applicants must first obtain a full skills assessment from the relevant assessing authority.

The Application Process

Here’s a simplified process for General Skilled Migration. In case of questions, don’t hesitate to reach out to us.

Check Your Eligibility

Before you submit Expression of Interest (EOI) make sure you’re eligible for The Skilled Migration Program by taking the Points Test.

Submit an EOI

To apply for Skilled Independent or Skilled Nominated visa, you are required to submit an Expression Of Interest (EOI) through SkillSelect.

Wait for Invitation

Once you have submitted an EOI you can then be invited by the Australian government, Australian employers or state governments to apply for the skilled visa.

Apply for Visa

After receiving an invitation to apply for the visa from the DIBP, you will have 60 days to lodge a visa application. Without an invitation you are not eligible to apply.



You will need to receive a score of at least 65 points to be able to submit an expression of interest through Skill Select. Please note just reaching 65 points doesn’t guarantee you will receive the visa.


Skills Assessment

Please be aware that before you can lodge a general skilled migration visa application you must first have a positive skills assessment in your nominated occupation.



The points test is only part of the general skilled migration process. 
To clarify your eligibility and find out about the later steps contact Pathway to Aus for a consultation.

Points Test was last modified: August 15th, 2019 by Pathway to Aus